2013 World Junior Championships Underway For Preds Prospects

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

With Christmas now in the rear-view mirror, the 2013 World Junior Championships are officially underway.

The first Nashville Predators prospect to take the ice at this year’s tournament was Finland’s Miikka Salomaki, who played as one of the team’s alternate captains during pre-tournament exhibitions last week. Finland got the real competition off to a solid start today at the Sports Palace in Ufa, Russia, with a 5-1 win over Group A underdog Latvia.

Playing on the top line with Joel Armia, Markus Granlund, Olli Maatta, and Rasmus Ristolainen, Salomaki went pointless during the blowout win. He took 3 shots, went 1-for-2 in faceoffs, and took a penalty for interference at 1:58 of the 2nd period. Salomaki wasn’t wearing the “A” today – those went to Maatta and Markus Hannikainen, with Petteri Lindbohm wearing the captain’s “C.” Here are the highlights from the game:

You can see a PDF with the whole box score for the game here. The win moved Finland to the top of Group A with 3 points and a +4 goal differential.

The other Nashville Predators prospect who will see action at the 2013 World Junior Championships is Jimmy Vesey, the Harvard player on the USA squad. Vesey was named player of the game for Team USA during its exhibition match with Sweden before the tournament began, just hours after taking a final for his Government class at Harvard.

USA’s first game is on December 27th against Germany, who were blown out by Canada 9-3 today in the first Group B game. The USA-GER game will air live on the NHL Network at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT with a replay at 8 p.m. ET/7 p.m. CT. The game will be available streaming on NHL.com as well for viewers in the United States.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Tags: Miikka Salomaki Nashville Predators World Junior Championships

comments powered by Disqus