Best Trade Deadline Acquisitions in Nashville Predators History

The 2024 NHL Trade Deadline is nearly here, and the Preds once again find themselves on the playoff bubble and unclear what direction they'll go.

St Louis Blues v Nashville Predators - Game Six
St Louis Blues v Nashville Predators - Game Six / Frederick Breedon/GettyImages
8 of 8
Filip Forsberg
San Jose Sharks v Nashville Predators - Game Three / Frederick Breedon/GettyImages

Filip Forsberg, Acquired from Capitals for Martin Erat in 2013

It's going to be nearly impossible to every top this trade deadline deal for the Predators. Just highway robbery that Capitals fans will never be able to get over as Forsberg continues to get better and better and join elite company among NHL forwards.

Martin Erat, on the other hand, was among the franchise greats for the Predators up to this point. No one could've imagined at the time of this trade that it would end up being so lopsided.

It does still baffle me that Forsberg being the 11th overall pick by the Capitals in 2012 was just dealt before ever playing an NHL game for the franchise. Instead they took a chance on Erat who was past age 30 and would go on to play in just 62 games for the Capitals.

The Capitals also acquired prospect and Predators 3rd round draft pick Michael Latta in the trade as well. Latta would appear in three seasons for the Capitals but never scored more than seven points in a season and became a regular on the AHL level.

We don't have to remind you that Forsberg is the Predators' all-time leading goal scorer with 265 goals and will continue to pad that franchise lead for years to come.

For context, this list is missing one significant franchise changing player that was acquired via trade during the 2015-16 season and that's Ryan Johansen. I left him off this list because it was so far ahead of that year's trade deadline, but of course looking back on it now, the Predators won that trade by dealing Seth Jones for Johansen with the Columbus Blue Jackets.

Honorable Mention: Peter Forsberg (2007), Hal Gill (2012), Paul Gaustad (2012), Wayne Simmonds (2019)